Conservative Cuisine

baltiIs it me? Or do all recipe books err on the side of caution? Tonight I cooked a lentil and sweet potato soup, and the recipe called for 2 cloves of garlic, ½ teaspoon of cumin, ½ teaspoon of coriander with a ‘pinch’ of turmeric. Now neither Lentils nor sweet potato are exactly zinging with flavour so I upped the ½ teaspoon to full.  Once cooked I tasted it and my immediate thought was – bland!

I jazzed it up with more garlic, chilli sauce, dark soy sauce and a teaspoon of ginger paste.

I blame the balti mile. Years of Birmingham cuisine has either cauterised my taste buds or raised my expectations!

2 thoughts on “Conservative Cuisine

Leave a Reply

