Water Rights and Wrongs

downloadI go to the ladies only swim session purely because it tends to be less  prone to lane-hogs who plough up and down with complete disregard for others and usually it is a pleasant swim.
This morning I got there a few mins early  and because there were a lot of people in the middle of the pool (left over from aquarobics (?) class) and also because my asthma was playing up, I chose the pool side lane to swim so that I could grab the side if needed.
After about ten mins two women arrived who are also regulars and who I had noticed in passing  ‘always’ use that lane – I was about to find out how territorial people can be.
They  just jumped  in  and ploughed straight at  me – causing enough bow wave to wash over my head . They obviously assumed I would move.
Well by now there were a lot more ladies there and there were no clear swimming lanes – so I stayed where I was – pausing to grab the side every time they barged past.
After 3 lengths I realised all of the pool staff were ranged along the pool side watching me -grinning encouragement and nudging  each other – quite obviously waiting to  see if I was either  ploughed beneath the water and require rescuing – or was going to give way.
Neither one occurred.
A few more lengths and I realised that other regulars were grinning at me and giving a few thumbs up signals as I passed.
I was tempted to stay for more than my usual quota just to make a point – but frankly that seemed rather pointless.

If it matters to them so much I was happy to  let them have what they obviously saw as their territory. Judging from the reaction of those around us theirs was not the victory they imagined.

 

One thought on “Water Rights and Wrongs

Leave a Reply

