Stalking a Story

Misha Herwin on Finding Inspiration

Misha Herwin

Dragon1

Sometimes a story comes fully formed. Sometimes I am presented with a character who will tell their story whether I plan to or not. And sometimes there is a glimpse of an idea which will gradually, gradually find its form.

For me these are the hardest stories to write.

I sit down. I stare at the screen. I write an opening sentence. I delete. I re-write. I force myself to write the first paragraph, then the second and…stop.

Nothing.

I know by now how the story will unfold. That is the most frustrating part of the whole process, because I cannot get it down on paper, or rather onto the screen.

In these circumstances I find the only thing to do is to get up and leave my computer. I find something else to do. I make the bed, dust the living room, wash a floor and half way through the…

View original post 117 more words

Leave a Reply

