Cake on the verge of cracking up.

Cracking good cake

Misha Herwin

Cake on the verge of cracking up

I love baking and trying out new recipes, so when I knew I was hosting a meeting of Penkhull Press I flicked through my cookery files and found a recipe for a chocolate and ale cake. It was one on Delia’s and with a Delia Smith recipe you can’t go wrong. Or can you?

It all began well. Making the cake was easy. Just put all the ingredients in together and whisk. In the meantime melt the chocolate with the Guinness, beat in the butter and chopped pecans and use to stick the two cakes together. The remaining, pecan less icing, went on top. Simple!

Not so. :-((

Icing has never been my strong point. I’m a throw it together cook and hope it tastes good. On Master Chef I’d be thrown out for my total lack of presentation skills. My attempt at decorating this cake however, wasn’t bad.

I…

View original post 98 more words

Leave a Reply

