The Obligatory Roundup for 2014

Yes, that time again, when we look back at the last 12 months and forward to another year.

I realise now that I have started that there is quite a lot to say – I have tried for once to be logical and tell it in bits – editing, publishing and the rest – so just sit back and go with me. Or alternatively  you can stop right here…

Firstly editing:

As always an update on my joint Peter’N’Jan hat with the Alchemy Press laurels are more Peter’s than mine – but hey… 🙂

Our titles published in 2014 (in case you’ve forgotten):

and, of course, the accolade bestowed on Alchemy Press of British Fantasy Award for Best Small/Independent Press of 2014
shelf
as always you can sign up Alchemy news  HERE

 

StiWicked-Women-72ppi-Front-194x300ll with editing I give you  Wicked Women with Fox Spirit books also edited with the inimitable Jenny Barber!

 

 

 

Then comes writing:

Sussex Tales final cover 2nd ed small

It has  also been a year of another big new project – Penkhull Press –
and specifically SUSSEX TALES.

Penkhull Press is brand new – set up to highlight local authors in all genres. Go and visit the web site for details!

Sussex Tales, however, is something I began a long while ago. It is something I am very proud of, not just because its original edition won an award, but because it the closest thing I have to roots!

There have been fewer short stories credits appearing in 2014  than previous years – mainly due to the editing duties – but here they are:

  • ‘Keraunophobia’ – Phobophobia:2   Western Legends Press.
  • ‘Drawing  Down The Moon’  in The Grimorium Verum. Western Legends Press.
  • The Clinic, (reprint) in Her Dark Voice, Knightwatch Press
  • ‘Green Tea’ in Salvo 8, CHWG

And as for  the rest?

Biggest news is that my beautiful step-daughter, Helen, married her handsome man, Neil, in a fabulous location in Cyprus.

The market stall enterprise sadly folded – mostly due to my own health issues
The Cheadle Moot started by Caroline Hill and myself has now been running for one entire year!  Sadly for me  Caroline has  moved on – but so glad to see her (and Summer) blossoming in their new surroundings in the Somerset vale.

I became an oil painting courtesy of the talented artist Anne Nichols as part of an exhibition on the sufferers of M.E  (so nah! Nobody can ever say I’m no oil painting!  🙂 )

Public appearances included:

  • slots on both Cre8 radio and Radio Stoke
  • Writing tutor events for Drayton Writers and Renegade events
  • Panelist at Edge Lit, Derby

Readings  at :

  • ‘Let The Write One In (Stoke)
  •  Writers’ Gatherings  at Southcart Books, Walsall  july
  • and Southcart Books in december
  • Fantasycon 2014 in York.
  • Reading cafe at Gladstone Pottery Museum in November

And so…

By and large 2014 has been a forward looking year. Yes, health issues loom large but I guess we all get to that age – and something for another time. I traced my son just this month (long story and also not for this letter in detail). For now I am celebrating those things that have been achieved and letting the rest play out as it may.

I am looking forward to seeing my collection  Leinster Gardens and Other Subtleties  arriving in early 2015. A collection of thirteen previously published  ghosts and hauntings plus one brand new tale.  Introduction by Shadow Publishing editor David Sutton.  There are other projects yet to be announced but nothing firm enough to shout about just yet!

So here’s to a happy 2015 and big thank you to everyone (especially Peter!) who helped make my 2014 so much fun!

 

Leave a Reply

